The End of Humanity

What is it with humans and extinction?

Along with being pretty fond of ourselves, we humans are also pretty obsessed with ending our species.

The first thing that comes to my mind while thinking about the extinction of humans is the false claim of the world ending in 2012.

Back then, somebody claimed that a planet named “Nibiriu” is going to collide with Earth. And the Mayan Calendar ended on Dec. 21, 2012. So people combined both and started freaking out that the world is going to end on 21 Dec 2012 by a collision with the planet.

I don’t know why, but people didn’t realise that the calendar maker had to stop making calendars at some point. I mean, what if the calendar ended on your birthday.

Or even worse, a day before your birthday.

People who had birthdays on Dec. 21 or 22 would’ve been pretty angry.

And even if a planet were to strike Earth, wouldn’t it have been visible by the naked eye? It’s not like it would suddenly teleport beside the moon, give it a high five and jump onto Earth.

Whatever, what’s gone is gone. The supposed “Dec. 2012 Doomsday” is gone, and humans are not.

But according to some conspiracy theorists, the world is going to end in 2016.

I read some of their theories, and they’re so stupid it’s hilarious.

Some people believe that the world was going to end on Feb. 14 2016 (Valentine’s Day), because Ghostbusters 2 predicted it. Funnily enough, there’s a Ghostbusters remake coming up, and newsflash: we’re still alive.

Some believe that Obama is going to destroy the world on June 6. If there was Donald Trump in place of Obama, I’d even believe it. But, Obama? He’s too soft spoken to destroy the world.

Facepalming my way through all these theories, I confirmed that the world is going to end not by asteroids or Obama, but by Global Warming.

Don’t ask me when though, I’m not any scientist.

A question that came to my mind while reading these theories is, why are we so obsessed with ending our own species?

Maybe we realised that we’re the worst thing to happen to Earth?

Or maybe we’re sick and tired of ourselves and want to go to heaven. (Which I totally don’t believe in. If you do then good for you, but please don’t try to change my belief.)

Whatever the theories, I’m quite sure that 2016 will also pass by without the extinction of the human race. Unless scientists come up with another groundbreaking theory when the Chinese Calendar ends on Dec. 1 2016.

That’s sarcasm, folks.

So, have you seen any other ludicrous theories? Do you believe in them or not? Tell me through the comments section below.

Also, sharing is caring!

4 thoughts on “The End of Humanity

  1. I think its a matter of being prepared. The world ending all of the sudden would just ruin a person’s day. So need to figure out when that may happen so I can be prepared if it does happen. At least that is my experience with the obsession I had with extinction.

    Now with so many false alarms about it in my life, I am tired of being prepared and nothing happens. So I don’t stress or expect it. If it happens, I will do the best I can. Like other things I cannot control or know in advance when or if it will happen.

    Although if the human race was going to have an extinction event, I do wish it would be a zombie event. Where shooting and killing the two legged virus would no longer be frowned upon but encouraged. That would really make my day living through it. 😛 LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m the same! I used to take the world ending thing as a way to make myself more productive, as a way to “achieve more before I die.” But with so many false alarms, I’ve stopped caring.
      Oh yeah! A zombie apocalypse would be really cool! So much more adventure than my current boring life.

      Like

Leave a Reply

